I’m in a bit of a serious place today regarding the higher direction GOD is moving me towards.

I guess sometimes in some part of my brain I want to take little vacations and not be fully responsible for all my choices.

As I read my bible daily I noticed that GOD would question the ancient Israelite’s for any choices that they made that were outside of HIS Will. So since that course of action did not work for  the children of Israel I’m sure that it will not work-out well for me either.

Yes we live in the dispensation of grace and not under the law such as in the Old Testament but sowing and reaping still apply. I see it in action each spring when I plant seeds in our backyard garden! But it also applies to the gardens of our lives:-)

You see I am a dedicated vessel unto The Lord Jesus Christ. I am bought through the price of HIS blood and I can not just do as I will.

HE has a plan and purpose for my life and HIS standards for me are much higher than my own devoid of HIM.

But then if you are a believer in Jesus Christ His standards for you are high as well!

These high standards would scare me silly if I did not understand that it is not by my power that I will ever live up to any of God’s dreams for my life.

Hosea 1:7 (New Living Translation)

7 But I will show love to the people of Judah. I will free them from their enemies—not with weapons and armies or horses and charioteers, but by my power as the Lord their God.”

One of my favorite worship songs is …

Holiness” by Micah Stampley!

It starts off stating.

Holiness, holiness is what I long for. Holiness is what I need!

Pastor Mike of Focal Point Ministries confirmed something that God had already been “dealing” with me on.

As  Christians our concern should not be how close can I get to sin ( without it being a problem)? But instead we should ask, “How far can I get away from sin and live a life of holiness”?

GOD desires a life of “Holiness” for His people. And the bible clearly states this in 1 Peter 2:9

1 Peter 2:9 (New Living Translation)

9 But you are not like that, for you are a chosen people. You are royal priests,[a] a holy nation, God’s very own possession. As a result, you can show others the goodness of God, for he called you out of the darkness into his wonderful light.

Holy means…

 

1.

specially recognized as or declared sacred by religious use or authority; consecrated: holy ground.
2.

dedicated or devoted to the service of god, the church, or religion: a holy man.
3.

saintly; godly; pious; devout: a holy life.
4.

having a spiritually pure quality: a holy love.
Living a life of holiness is not a burden that GOD imposes upon us but instead it is an impartation of HIS very Spirit!.

It is our sin in many different forms that separates us from GOD!
There are things, people and situations that  may be permissible but they are no longer beneficial!
In order to walk in holiness we learn to desire only that which is beneficial to God’s glory:-)
Perhaps it’s time to go through the closet of  our lives and carefully consider some of  our possessions.
When going through our valuables let us  ask the Holy Spirit how HE feels about such and such or so and so remaining a central fixture in our lives.
For instance in my life I need to really go through the movies on our shelves that have been purchased over the years. Many of them no longer serve me. Perhaps they were entertaining and enjoyable at a different point in my life but now when I sit down to watch many of them I walk away having “grieved” The Holy Spirit that lives on the inside of me.
Sadly most of the things that are promoted through  media these days does NOT glorify GOD in any form.
With this being the case; Why do we as believers in Jesus Christ enjoy these things so much?
Are we loving the world? Or having a form of Godliness and then denying HIS power?
Are we desiring and embracing Christ as a Savior but not honoring HIM as our Lord and Master?
A life of Holiness means a life dedicated to the service of God!
This is not just a calling placed on a Pastor’s life. God has called HIS entire body to be holy!

Leviticus 20:7 (New Living Translation)

7 So set yourselves apart to be holy, for I am the Lord your God.

 

A life of holiness requires careful attention to all the details that make our world.

It is through God’s love for us and then this love returned to HIM that walking out a life of holiness becomes a  joy and pure pleasure and form of worship to HIM!

We have HIS Spirit to instruct us in all things and this includes lessons on how to live a live of holiness:-)

Let’s look at how powerful having the Holy Spirit is.

 

Matthew 1:18 (New Living Translation)

The Birth of Jesus the Messiah

18 This is how Jesus the Messiah was born. His mother, Mary, was engaged to be married to Joseph. But before the marriage took place, while she was still a virgin, she became pregnant through the power of the Holy Spirit.

 

The Holy Spirit is powerful enough to over-shadow a woman and give her a child without having known a man!

I just know that The Holy Spirit can instruct us and overshadow and clothe us with “Holiness” all we have to do is say yes to HIS Will and yes to HIS Ways. I want a soul that says … YES to GOD in every way!

Here is Micah Stampley’s Holiness I hope you enjoy this song at least half as much as I do!

 

Comments on: "Soaring Into A Life of Holiness" (1)

Comments are closed.

Tag Cloud

